www.flickr.com
mjbonen's items Go to mjbonen's photostream
REMEMBER TO BECOME A "FOLLOWER!" Click on the sidebar!

I LOVE TO RECEIVE "COMMENTS" TOO...SO SPEAK UP!!

Sunday, May 21, 2006

...daVinci debate or propaganda?

instead of the "infomercials" which run all night long, i have been switching channels and found that one religious channel was having a discussion (only one sided though) about "the daVinci code." It amazes me, that they are harping that this book and movie are only tearing away the deep seated traditions and mores of the bible. Now I have to consider this: the bible and daVinci Code are both BOOKS. each writtten about 2000 years apart. one was written by many individuals over a great period of time - with no hard evidence to support its claims or statements, and the other more recent book was written by one man with backup up reseearch from other books of the same genre. I consider that both belong in the "fiction" section of the library.

this one gentleman was referring to those who "fall" for the daVinci concepts as cultists, but then what are the people who swear by every single word of the bible? at one point the discussion moved to the sect (cult) within the catholic church called "opus dei." i saw an interview with four members of this cult and they are scary. well dressed and spoken individuals in high paying jobs and have nothing. Opus Dei requires that all financial assets be turned over to the "church" and they physically abuse their bodies in service to God daily. Oh by the way, Opus Dei has been an official sect for only 77 years. there is a barbed "bracelet" of sorts called a cellus (pronounced sill-us) they wear for hours at a time wrapped around their thigh. I suppose because your "bad thigh" made you do bad things. and not to forget the knotted whip for self flagellation.

My question is: where does religion start or cults for that matter? what are the organized religions afraid of from a movie? I taught my children at an early age, that movies are not real (unless otherwise stated), just created entertainment.

For a work of fiction, these anti da vinci groups are really hyping the movie whether they admit it or not. Now for Leonardo daVinci. Other than Stephen Hawking (the smartest individual I can think of at the moment), I can't think of anyone as versatile and of a genius nature that we should even comment "against" him. The man was a scholar, artist, engineer, scientist, and anatomy instructor. Definitely a man before his time. He invented the first machine gun for heavens sake. With a brain such as his, I would not be shocked to consider that he put subtle clues in his paintings and other works.

Slyght bought the book a long time ago and I have been wanting to read it, so I bought a paperback for my cruise. I hope there are no religious fanatics to rip it out of my hands and throw it overrboard.

This one gentleman had me laughing, he kept saying over and over, "I am not telling people to boycott the movie, but why should we put our dollars in Sony's coffers over a pack of lies." If he said it once he said it twenty times, makes me want to buy stock in Sony now. And all these new books are coming out to contradict da Vinci code, and reference the Bible, of course and writings from centuries past. Now back to my initial statements, who is alive to verify "old" statements and where is the evidence?

I may burn in hell, but so be it, that is how I feel, and I always love a good argument.

5 am and I think I will go back to bed now. Stay healthy all - 19 DAYS TILL SAILING TIME!!

***Note: daVinci Code grossed $224 million over 3 day span, second only to Star Wars. Gotta love Sony.

Thursday, May 18, 2006

i have had enough....

Today started out with a plan. I was finally going to jump into getting my kitchen back in order. During tax season I had moved all my files up and it had become a mess. Files are now back in the basement, and it is 12:30 am Thursday morning - and I am ready for a breakdown, but I digress...

As I was "rearranging" the hutch (moving to another wall), and I then proceeded to move the unit holding my printers, laptop and some office supplies - it collapsed and everything went crashing to the floor. I had electronics strewn everywhere. While the daughter started unplugging and sorting the stuff out, I ran to WalMart to get a stronger shelving unit. When I returned home, she had gotten a friend to come help with the mess. We put the new unit together, and began reconnecting all the electronics and luckily - EVERYTHING IS FINE!!! Oh what a mess.

With all the moving and up and down on the stool (to clean things "higher" up), my body was screaming at me. I then fixed a baked steak dinner, and went to bed at 9 pm. I think I fell asleep instantly. Thedaughter then woke me at midnight to tell me we had water coming in the basement. My nerves cannot take anymore. I spent $65K to have a new foundation put under my house in 2001 so I wouldn't have a swimming pool for a basement, but the jerk who did he job either did not put a check valve in the drain system or used shite materials. I need to have a check valve put in and have been nagging this guy for over a year to do it, and now look where I am?!?!? Tomorrow morning at 8 am he is going to hear from me. It has rained non-stop for several days now and I need this done. After Hurricane Ivan in 2004 - and I lost $20K in property because the basement flooded - I cannot go thru it again. I will more than likely not be able to go back to sleep now.
WHY CAN'T THINGS GO SMOOTHLY?????

How ridiculous to get worked up like this - I have already gotten sick once, my stomach is in knots. I certainly do not handle stress well at all. I am my own worst enemy.

I am so glad Slyght finally started blogging again, I miss his humor and updates during the "down" time.

Gonna go for now - stay healthy all - 23 DAYS NOW!!!!

Monday, May 15, 2006

Lovely Mothers Day

Besides being rainy and gloomy most of the day, Mothers Day turned out to be a lovely event. Thedaughter loved her gifts from her son and was in a good humor all day. I spoke with (and viewed on webcam) the son for almost an hour in the morning. His beard is growing in nicely, the "bug bite" is healing (after his personal surgery with nail clippers - argh!!!), and he made my day complete, just by electronic comunications.

Mom2's brother Donald invited us to his house for a cookout, and it was divine. He cooked steaks, deep fried chickens, lasagna and we took some side dishes. Nice, laid back afternoon and early evening. Thedaughter came down and brought the grandson, Mom2's family and Donald's girlfriends parents were all there, and as usual there was more than enough food. Mom2's son came in later in the evening, which was a real treat for her. She becomes cranky sometimes when she doesn't have her complete family on holidays, so that scenario was avoided. (hahahahaha)

Thegrandson played with the other kids and literally wore himself out, to the point of being a real grumpass. He does not understand that the other kids have to go home at some point and playtime is not eternal. He almost takes it personally and becomes unbearable. (but still love him to pieces.) Our big problem is getting him to go to bed without TV or lights on. He has been spoiled in that way. I can get him to sleep easily by laying with him and rubbing his back, but his mother doesn't want that anymore. I feel at least we should wean him away from that slowly. If he watches TV, he never goes to sleep. I am to blame for some of it, but when I am watching him, I let him watch TV for awhile then do the back rub thing and all is good. Doesn't work as well for his mother. Uncle Zac turns the lights out and just lays quietly in the dark with him for awhile and "zap" he is out. I don't have the ideal solution, but hopefully we will work something out for the little booger.

Enough for the moment. SLYGHT START BLOGGING, miss your humor and insight. Besides, you have to blog and tell everyone about the new job description. Oooooh - now we have a mystery.

Later, stay healthy all - 25 days now!!!

Saturday, May 13, 2006

dreary and depressing day...

It almost seems like a fall day. Chilly and cloudy and sends me into a depression of sorts. I have a tendency to dwell on all the bad and very little good, on days like this. The guy just cut the grass, but I am going to have to get my lawnmower out and get it running, this goofball charges me $25 for 1/2 hour of work. My side lot is flat and totally unobstructed and w/ all the junk in the backyard, probably isn't more than 50 square feet to cut. I like to cut grass, but everyone worries I may have another heart attack. Pshaw!!! I can do it in increments.

The neatest event happens every spring on my back deck. (Since 2001). When my sister died, I received a beautiful "spoon" basket, and I hung it and filled it with fake flowers shortly thereafter. Robins have been nesting in it since then. Each nest is made on top of the last. Right now there are 4 robin eggs in the nest and the mother robin gets highly pissed every time I open the back door. Last year, while I was on my cruise, the nasty blackbirds knocked 3 of the eggs out of the nest, so we try to watch them if possible. thegrandson is totally enthralled by it all. The dog can't figure out why the bird is screaming at her all the time. LOL.

Just cleaned thegrandsons toy room and discarded a lot of old toys and pieces of toys. Looks great for the moment, but probably won't stay that way for long. Laundry is going thru the process and going to start on the kitchen now.

Hopefully, my best friend and I will go to Red Lobster for dinner. We always have fun, and all we do is GAB!!! No one is safe from our clutches - the entire public is fair game. We can be merciless too.

More later, this was just a "fill the time" blog.

Stay healthy all - 27 DAYS!!!

Thursday, May 11, 2006

He doesn't listen to MOM...

Well, theson has done it again. I specifically told him NOT to buy me anything for Mother's Day or for any of the immediate upcoming holidays, as he has done more than he should. Today the UPS shows up at the door with a box (from Amazon) and I sign for it (a rarity), and place it in the living room, as that is where all of thesons purchases go. later on, thedaughter asks me what I ordered from Amazon, and I said "nothing, what are you talking about?" She proceeded to tell me the box I signed for was for ME. (Note: I wasn't wearing my glasses when I signed for the package either.)

I verified that it was for me and tore into the box savagely. OH MY GOD!!! Theson got me a JVC Everio Hard Disk Camcorder. This thing is the bomb. Takes digital pics as well as recordings. Strange as it may sound, this morning I was telling thedaughter that I was going to dig out my old camcorder to take on the cruise. Well, fuggedaboutdat. This unit fits in the palm of your hand (no kidding), and is sooooo light. Amazing. I have figured out how to charge it, take a pic and record. As far as the special effects it has and all the "fluff", I will have to PRACTICE!! The unit came w/ 9 books. Actually only three are necessary, as there is a set in spanish and french also. My understanding is that I can then download pics and recording to a CD when I am done. This is too cool. Now I have to figure out how to beat my son for being so very good to me.

Now for the reality check. the daughter mentioned that this camcorder may very well be for Zac and somehow my name got on the packaging ---- NAH!!! Too bad, possession is 9 points of the law. lalalalalalalalala..! Too late, he will have to wrestle me for it, and that is just too over the top. I am old, fat and fragile. HEE HEE.

Rainy, crumby day here. Yesterday it was 80 degrees and sunny, now chilly (60 ish) and rainy. Gonna stay that way for the next 6-7 days. YUK!!

Thegrandsons last day of preschool was today. We spent the day with the whole class, ate a sack lunch (in the classroom as the rain precluded our trip to Wheeling Park.) Some of those kids I could have strangled. Wild, loud and apparently throughout the school term - learned nothing about sharing. I am sure the teachers are going to enjoy some solitude over the next couple of months. Hope I can teach him to ride a bike over the summer, haven't done that for awhile.

Gonna go for now, stay healthy all. 28 days from tomorrow - sailing, sailing!! lalalalalalala

Monday, May 08, 2006

just resting and catching up...

Well, almost a full week of unemployment. still scared, but guess that will last till i find another job. trying to cut back on some things (wish i hated to shop) to stretch the $$$. I have gotten my front porch in order and have to tackle the back deck now. that will be an alL-day project, as during the fall and winter months, i notoriously "throw" everything back there. so i guess you could call this pay back on me.

the daughter doesn't make it easier either. she misses the point that we have to work together (since she is currently in a cast and cannot work.) no matter what, there is always something that has to be done. she goes to bed late and sleeps till noon or 12:30 and it is hard to accomplish a lot on that schedule.

the grandson's last day of pre-school is this thursday, then he is off till he starts kindergarten in late august. then SCHOOL forever. poor baby. but he has a curious mind and loves to learn so hope he goes far in this world.

that damn "BUSH COUNTDOWN CLOCK" is not going fast enough. the a**hole is still fukking up everything. now he has appointed a "military" person to head the CIA ?!?!?! let's see, he bugs your phone and internet, and now wants a military guy in to suveil the masses even more. NOT. i think there will be a stink over this one. (at lease that is the ramblings so far.) poor me - may have to get on my soapbox again.

had a great day yesterday. mom2, oldest daughter (newlywed), and i went flea marketing and then to BW3's. mom2 was totally impressed with bdubs. guess we will have to do that again sometime soon.

everyone read slyghts blog today about the t-shirt "give away!" HILARIOIUS!!!!

STAY HEALTHY AND EMPLOYED ALL!! 32 DAYS AND I AM OUTTA HERE!!

Wednesday, May 03, 2006

Is this a midlife crisis?

I have either made a major step forward in my life or one helluva screwup. I quit my job yesterday, a job where I have been for 5 years and ended making $8 an hour. This employer (a family run operaton) hired a new girl a year ago (just at Christmas time), and I started noticing she was getting a ton of hours and no extras thrown my way. After my cruise last May, I had a conversation with the boss, and asked why she was making $8 an hour and in a full time position and nothing was offered to me. Dumb me, I listened and finally realized - HE GAVE ME NO ANSWERS WHATSOEVER. He offered me a quarter an hour raise - to a whopping $7.75 an hour. that was June 2005.

At Christmas time - the boss and I were working a Sunday before Christmas and as I laid the daily deposit record on his desk, he had the payroll record opened, and I noticed this girl wasn't making $8 an hour - she had been making $10 an hour since June. So apparently after our wonderful discussion and I was under the belief that our wages were in sync (somehwat) - fool that I am. Now I realize that after appeasing me, he gave her a $2 an hour raise.

I know he didn't offer me full time, because he didn't want to offer me health care, since I had had a triple bypass in 2004. Which is't a worry, because I have lousy health coverage with my late husbands pension. Anyway, I have been upset since December, and have been loosing sleep, wondering how to approach the subject again. You have to understand, I do not like confrontations, I can hold my own when confronted, but to initiate one - NOT. So Sunday, I laid the groundwork for my feelings in an email to the boss and hit the "send" button. His reply was "we will have a face to face on Tuesday" my next scheduled day to work.

Everything was chummy when I got to work. The boss's daughter didn't show up for work nor did the "full time" competitor, just the boss's wife. Hmmm... something is awry. At 1:00 pm he finally called me in his office and we started a conversation that went nowhere fast. Again, he could not answer my questions. Since he has only been an "owner" of a business for 13 years, I asked him to draw on his years as an employee, and how would he feel if the roles were reveresed? Duh, he really seemed like a moron. He made it clear that I was not getting any more hours and the $8 was the best he could do. Silence. I then asked, what was the best he could do to "bridge the gap" between our pay. Get this - $8.25 an hour. Let's see - she's making $10 - me to $8.25. I said "NO" and I had to leave. He said he was sorry to see me go and he was going to have to hire two part timers after I left. Now do the math, even at minimum wage he wuld be shelling out $10.30 an hour then. OK - I must have been born yesterday.

It is not like I have any savings and can afford to do this, but emotionally and mentally I had to sever the relationship. I am scared to death right now. I do not want to depend on theson, and fear of the future is great. The son arranged for my cruise while he was home, and if I could get a refund for him I would, but to late for that. I will figure something out. I truly do not like where I am at this point in my life, but things will work out I am sure.

Hope you all enjoyed this diatribe - rambling on at its best. Later.

Friday, April 28, 2006

Times Up! Back to India!

Well, I knew the ten or so days Zac was going to be home would go fast, but whew!! they just flew by. A lot had to be crammed into those days, which only accelerated the trip. We had Brenda's wedding on Saturday, Carrie's surgery on Tuesday and had to fit all the visits and playtime in between. It literally broke my heart to send him back today. I've been tracking him on Google Earth and he just passed over New Foundland a shor time ago.

I miss his humor so much when he is not here. We make fun of everything and everyone. We are definitely equal opportunity people. Everything and everyone is always fair game. As far as I know, he managed to get everyone everything he promised, except for 2 cans of Guiness - sorry to whomever that was promised.

The packing was the fun part. If Zac had to do it his way, he would need 14 suitcases. BUT I AM THE QUEEN OF PACKING. One bag was strictly canned goods and food products. His main suitcase was essentials, and I had left over space for more food products. Some non-essential things were left here, which I will get boxed and shipped this coming week. Should be interesting when and if he ever comes home (or leaves India) - he will have to have an entire FedEx semi hired to ship everything back home.

He had fun in Columbus with his "buddies", whether playing poker or going to those "gentlemans clubs." Such a worldly young man.

Totally exhausted, going to bed for now and watch my favorite "Real Time with Bill Maher." Laugh myself to sleep. More later. Take care all. 41 days til I am sailing.!! Yippee!!

Saturday, April 22, 2006

PAY YOUR KIDS TO ELOPE!!!

I am a firm believer that all the money spent on elaborate weddings is just pissed down the tube. All that fluff and what do you have to show for it down the road? The same piece of paper you would have if you eloped!!

The ceremony is over the reception is over and the bride (my daughter) and groom are on their way to a hotel in Pittsburgh, as their flight is at 7 am tomorrow morning to Jamaica. AND MY FEET ARE KILLING ME!!!! Not to mention my legs, back and other body parts. So therefore, I must have had a good time. My daughter was a beautiful bride. My other daughter was a beautiful bridesmaid (considering she hates femininity altogether.) We went thru hell this morning just getting my daughters hair done.

I had made an appointment at the Regis hair salon at the mall for 10 am this morning for Carrie to get a wash, cut and style, possibly an updo. I dropped her off and went to get champagne and champagne glasses and when I got back to the mall, the girl was already pinning her hair in silly little curls on top of her head. I said the girl must be quick, and was then informed that they didn't have time to wash or cut her hair, just put it on top of her head. NOW I AM FURIOUS. I made a specific appointment for a specific job and they arbitrarily change the program. It was hideous and they then charged me $35. No wash - no product used - just a head full of bobby pins. I will get my $35 back - I will be contacting the corporate offices and any persons of importance. I had to take her to another salon and get it all redone. ($45 there) Now the wedding is at 2:30pm, the limo is supposed to pick Carrie up at home at 1:20 pm. That went to hell fast. We got out of the salon at 1:30 and made a mad dash home to get clothes on, me fix my hair and travel 11 miles to the church. We made it at 2:25 pm. I hate being late and hate being rushed even more. For that alone I will get even with REGIS SALONS.

All in all, everyone looked beautiful, the limo got everyone where they had to be, and the reception and food was all great. Now I am ready for my breakdown. Carrie and Zac have each gone out for the evening, Colton is at the babysitters, and all I want to do is cry. Just nerves and anxiety, I will get over it.

Zac is leaving for Columbus in the morning and that pretty much ends our visit, as I won't see him till the night before he leaves to go back to India. More heartbreak. I miss the big boy when he is gone.

Tomorrow will be "rest up" day for me, as Monday it is off to Columbus again, Carrie's surgery is scheduled for Tuesday morning. Always something.

Enough for now - I am pooped!!! Nite Nite!!

crazy, chaotic days

My oldest daughter is getting married this afternoon and it has really been chaotic the past couple of days. I must explain, that my daughter is 35 years old and I gave her up for adoption when she was born, as I was an 18 year old unwed mother (a real stigma in those days). I never stopped thinking about her, but knew I had made the right decision for me at the time. Many years later, with my new family, I had never kept it a secret about the child I gave up for adoption. Fourteen years ago, I had made an agressive search to find my biological family (I too, was adopted, with my twin sister), and made great strides. During this process, I got a call from the adoption agency I used in 1970, that my daughter would like to meet me, if I was willing. I had made the process easy for her to find me, and we met, she was married with a one year old son. since then, we have been one extended family. I get along well with her adoptive parents (who divorced) and the "steps", we are just one group of crazy people.

This is Brenda's 2nd marriage, and I truly love my new "son-in-law" and feel they will have a good realtionship. Zac and Carrie also get along wonderfully. Going to be interesting, Brenda with her Irish heritage marrying this Italian gentleman. Could be some interesting disagreements at times.

Had the rehearsal dinner last night and met Pete's family (a good many drove up from Florida), he actually has an "Uncle Vinny" and a "cousin Vinny" - so Italian. I just LOVE his mother Donna, she is a trip. Unfortunately, the weather is gloomy and may rain today - so we will just have to make up for it at the reception. Party hardy!!!

***Just a note - I made the arrangements for the limo (a good friend of mine) and have left messages for him with NO return calls and have been having kittens worrying about what to do. Well, the prick just called me and everything is COOl. Whew, another thing off my mind.

The best release of all is --- MY CRUISE, FLIGHT AND HOTEL ARE BOOKED AND CONFIRMED. Took care of everything yesterday, and I am sailing on June 10th to the Eastern Caribbean. Got my balcony room, a non-stop flight to Ft. Lauderdale (one change on return), and a hotel room the night before embarkation. I am soooo excited I could scream (oops, think I did that.) I wish my best friend could go with me (we always have super fun), but she has health issues at the moment that preclude her traveling. I have no problems with traveling alone, I make friends easy and enjoy solitude also. Maybe we will plan another group cruise for next year. I get free internet on the ship, will try to blog, but have to wait and see if it is feasible. Just 48 days from now (I will be putting the countdown in all blog posts) I will be in puppy heaven.

Okay, time to get some things done (hair, makeup and all the "fluff" stuff for the wedding). Details later (and hopefully some pics). Take care all.

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

my (big) baby is home!!! luv ya zac

Well, I picked up my son at the Pittsburgh Airport last night, and all is well with the world, albeit for a short time. He looks wonderful, has lost about 15 pounds, and his wonderful, crazy sense of humor is still intact. His plane was an hour late, so I made new friends in the airport while waiting, so not a bad waiting period. Got his baggage (it all made it) and headed home. He wanted a steak dinner more than anything, but all the steakhouses (Max & Erma's, Lone Star, Outback's) were all closed. Even his favorite Smokey Bones and Olive Garden were closed. So we ended up at Eat 'n Park (or Arf and Barf) for a burger. We were both starved so it was better than nothing.

Got back to Bellaire about 12:15 am, and Colton (the grandson) was just dozing off, when Zac totally surprised him - it was a Kodak moment and no camera in sight. The little guy LIVES for his Uncle Zac. We were all exhausted and crashed rather quickly.

Zac couldn't even sleep in this morning, he was up by 8:30 am. We had a full day planned, and quite hectic at that. Colton had a cold (coughing and hacking) which miraculously healed itself after we called him off of school. Zac, Colton and I headed to the mall, with a full agenda, and we accomplished 98% of that list. Colton kept his uncle really running, but Zac loves it. Note: Zac started opening all his presents to himself first thing this morning, and he is like a wide eyed child getting a new toy. OH... that is because everything was a toy. How he finds these creatively ingenious items totally amazes me. He has opened about 20 boxes and isn't even half done. Bless his heart.

Zac, Colton, the daughter, Mom2 and her husband, and her brother Donald and Mary, Anthony, Stephanie and Christa (whew!!!)oops and Kim, all went to the famous (or infamous) West Texas Roadhouse for dinner and it was hysterical. We all have an enormous amount of fun when we are there. Zac treated for dinner and left the waitress (or server) a beautiful tip, but that is the way he is. A very generous loving soul!

He has gone to "Flanagans" to meet Mom2's husband for a quick drink and laugh or two (right???) I am worn out and headed to my bed, have to work in the morning, then I am off till next Thursday. Yea!!!!

Hold tight for the next installment, will keep you all informed of Zac's (slyghts) latest adventure. Nite all!!!

Sunday, April 16, 2006

Hoppy Easter!!!

Well, it was a beautiful day, baked a ham early, the daughter made scalloped potatoes, and I actually had the client from hell come at 12:30 pm. Now, this old man came to me 2 years ago and I was tickled to death when he didn't return. He questioned every little move I made, and hovered over my shoulder the entire time I was preparing his return, then called a million times after returning home, with the SAME questions. sunny beaches, he called Friday evening and wanted an appointment (and talked on phone repetitiously for over 1/2 hour), and I told him to come Saturday evening around 6 pm, as I worked till 5. He showed up, and said he changed his mind and was going to try and do his own return, which was super fine with me, and stood on the porch talking for another 1/2 hour. He really rambles on and on and never wants to leave. He called and left a message on the machine at 11:15 pm last night, but I didn't pick up - just said he wanted to ask me something. When he called at 9 am this morning - he changed his mind again, and being the nice person I am, I said to come between 12 and 12:30, BECAUSE it was Easter and we had to go somewhere. It took me probably 20 minutes to do his return, and he stayed 2 hours, with questions on the return. HE IS DEFINITELY OCD. With a little Alzheimers thrown in for good measure.

I make the whole tax procedure sooooo easy for my clients. When completed they are given a folder with all information supplied by them STAPLED in said folder, a cover sheet noting whether they get a refund or they owe (and who to make the check payable), and all information (returns) are paper-clipped with envelopes attached and marked where they are to sign. I must have explained this to the old guy a thousand times and he just didn't get it. He kept saying the tax book says this and that - and I explained that I do know what I am doing, have been doing this for 30 years and update necessary courses regularly. I finally had him make out his checks while here and attached them to the appropriate forms and son of a b**ch if he didn't call again at 9 o'clock tonite. If I weren't balding already I would be pulling my hair out!!! He asked if I had caller ID, so if he called and doesn't leave a message, I could call him back. I told him I DON'T have caller ID, so he would have to leave messages (I lied) and he said since he knows where I work, he might contact me there. I emphatically said he could NOT call me at work. I hope the Alzheimers takes over and he forgets where he put the return with my name and number, for next year. I will have to start a series of Prozac to deal with him.

I had 3 pick ups (of returns) and had 2 returns to complete today. In between all this, I got really sick. Barfing up a perfectly good meal. Took a lot out of me, and now feel like crap. I think it is a combination of nerves, end of tax season crunch and the anticipation of seeing my son on Tuesday. Not seeing him for eight months has been so hard. Thank god for the internet and the webcam or I would have gone completely nuts. His stay here will be way to short. He should be getting on his first airplane out of India soon.

Going to put my crappy ass in bed for now, head is exploding also. Happy Easter to all!! Felt bad I couldn't even get to Mom2's even. Will make up for it later. Nite Nite.

Monday, April 10, 2006

well i really got that wrong...

OK - forget everything I said about the daughters surgery last week. I misunderstood the doctor completely. Not that I am dumb or anything (because I definitely am not), but he talks so fast I guess I only caught PART of what he said. We went back for a follow up and to have the half cast removed today, and apparently he did find some bone problems and she will definitely have one bone removed and 3 fused if possible. If not possible, he will be removing several. With this procedure, her wrist will lose some back and forth motion but not enough to be disabling. But he guarantees she will no longer suffer the awful pain she has in the past. This doctor is a trip, funny as hell. Looks like Drew Careys TALL sidekick (c'mom tell me his name). He is at least 6'6". If I were 20 years younger I might chase after him (after beating his wife to a pulp). Right!! The surgery is set for April 25th. We will be in Columbus for another 2 nights again, hopefully for the last time. Probably at least 2 follow ups after that. She will have a full cast for 6 weeks minimum and unable to work at all for a definite 3 months.

They are so efficient at OSU it totally amazes me. Our appointment was at 1:50 pm, and we got there on the dot, and were in and out and on our way home at 2:30 pm. Incredible.

Great Sunday for me, up at 6 am, went to tan at 9 and my appointment was for 11:30 - blew that one. So I cancelled the appointment altogether and came home and worked on tax returns from 9:30 am - 11:30 pm - NONSTOP. I had an incredible headache all day today because of it. I got all but 3 returns completed, but now have to put them together, call the clients and collect my $$$$. I wish I wasn't so cheap. Usually I save most of my tax money for vacation, but have spent a good bit on gasoline and incidentals for all these trips to Columbus. No big deal, you do what you have to do!!! Thanks to Slyght, he used his hotel rewards points for the hotel on two occasions so far. Thank you baby!!

Well, it is 10:30 pm and I am totally exhausted - think it is time for me to crash - behave everyone!! Be back later.

Thursday, April 06, 2006

DIDJA MISS ME?????

The end of tax season is ALWAYS crunch time and this year is even worse. Took the daughter to OSU for another surgery this past Monday and it actually had good results. The doctor will NOT have to remove any bones, but she will need another surgery to repair a 3-4" ligament tear. Excellent news. She will not be disabled. But after the next surgery the doctor emphasized she wil not be allowed to work for at least 3 months. The surgery to repair the ligament needs complete "babying" so the seamstress work takes hold. At the present time she has a half cast, and is still in considerable pain. Since OSU is a teaching hospital the anaesthesiologist was a student, and in trying to intubate her, he cut the piece of skin under her tongue, and now has swelling and eating has presented a few problems. (As if we can't afford to miss a meal or two!!! Right!) She is having trouble doing many chores, and i even had to bath her tonight. That was a trip - haven't bathed her in at least 20+ years. God, she is a bigger baby now!! haha - kidding Carrie.

I have all the last minute clients calling and still have some saying "I almost have it all together" - DUHHHH!!! Give me a break. Normally I don't let it bother me, but this year, with all the trips to Columbus, working part-time, tax season and my oldest daughters wedding - I would like to schedule my nervoius breakdown now!! Damnit - I haven't had time to book my cruise either. That is imperitive. That way I can have my breakdown at sea, and save everyone here at home from the gore of it all!

It is 10:15 pm and I have 10 returns sitting in front of me, I worked today till 5 pm, have tanned, bathed both daughter and grandson (and myself), and arranged for the limo for my daughters wedding. Nah - no returns tonite. Work till 6pm tomorrow and tan at 8 pm tomorrow, so I will not get to these returns till Saturday and alllllllll day Sunday. I love the pressure.

Gotta run for now - will be back as soon as time allows. Pray for me!!

Tuesday, March 28, 2006

...and how many years have these people filed taxes???

It always amazes me, at the END of tax season, all the people that finally decide it is time to have them prepared. The next 20 days are going to be hectic - actually 18 days as the 3rd and 4th of April I will get little done since Carrie is to have her surgery. I always amaze myself that I do get it all done though. Last year I had all returns complete and only filed 2 extensions. So far this year I know I will have one extension to file, as the gentleman (Uncle Windy) is working out of the area and won't return till the end of April.

Too tired to work on any tonight, got home from work, got into my comfort clothes - and Mom 2 has computer problems. Threw a coat on and up to phyldot's house I go. (**I always visit people in my jammies!! Hee Hee) got their broadband up and running again and BOOM, the daughter calls and I have a client waiting at the house. Now this is the heighth of etiquette to enter my house in my jammies to greet a client. Hell anybody can wear a business suit - NOT ME!! Tra-la-la-la!!

I am babysitting, the daughter has gone out with her friends. Think I will have Colton bathed and in bed by 9 p.m., since one of my favorite shows is on - HOUSE. Made sure I watched "24" last night, getting really exciting, and now another favorite tonight. All signs of a person who really needs a life!!

It appears Paul had a good "BIKE" weekend after all, even if the first planned excursion was a bust. Must be nice to ride free. You go Paul!!

Enough for now, more to come!!! TTFN.

Monday, March 27, 2006

looks like more surgery...

I guess you could say everything went well today in Columbus. The doctor is super cautious, and wants to exhaust every means before a possible FINAL surgery to remove the necrotic bones in Carrie's wrist. He has scheduled a bone scoping (surgical procedure) for next Tuesday. We will go up on Monday again, since she will have to be at the hospital as early as 5 am. The doctor said that 90% of the time he can correct most problems with this procedure but he seriously doubts that will be the case with Carrie. He just as well said that eventually he will be removing the bones. But due to her young age, he would prefer that be a last ditch measure. We have faith in him and will do as he says. We also scheduled the follow up visit for the 10th of April. (possibly to remove stitches.) If he should want to schedule a surgical procedure to remove bones, we told him it would have to be after April 22nd, which is Brenda's (my oldest daughter) wedding. Carrie would prefer not to have a messed up hand for the wedding. I can understand that.

This is really putting the pressure on me, all at the end of tax season. Hope I can get it all done. It is late and have to send some emails, so more later. G'bye for now!!

Sunday, March 26, 2006

just don't know where to start...

I know it has been a few days since i last blogged, but I have been busy. The entire time I am thinking of all the idiot things I would like to blog. I think I really need a life!!! It is Sunday morning, and I have already tanned and am back home to begin the backlog of tax returns. BUT FIRST... I had to hook up a DVD (cheap at WalMart = $33) in the kitchen. You have to understand that I am always at the kitchen table, albeit eating a meal, working on laptop or just watching TV. I never go in my living room (Colton has taken that over) and when I watch TV in the bedroom I go to sleep. Since I have accumulated all these DVD's and never get to watch them, I considered this a good investment for myself. Now consider this, I have a cable box and and a TV with NO output jacks on the back. Hmmm...I purchased a RCA Combination RF Modulator and Switcher months back, at Circuit City, just because it was on a clearance table for $1.99. BARGAIN. Aha... just what I needed. I have wires everywhere, but now hidden well, and after only one misstep, it is up and running. I even have "FLIGHTPLAN" in as I type. (btw - excellent movie). NOW AM I THE QUEEN??

As I said in an earlier post, the President (I use the term loosely) was in Wheeling last Wednesday. The local Republican newspapers only praised the idiot and made statements as to how well this Ohio Valley loves the man, blah, blah, blah - wish I owned a newspaper. The next day the headline read "EDUCATOR-IN-CHIEF" - now does anybody have a problem with that. If I knew how to link in this blog I would refer you to slyghts past blog and the TV clips of all the ignorant, stupid, grammatical errors the boob has made in the past. I know I DO NOT consider him any kind of an educator-in-chief, that is plain moronic. There were about 100 protestors outside of the Capitol Music Hall, 100 yards away from the entrance (threats of being arrested if any closer.) I cannot believe all the people I have spoken to (and honestly kept my mouth shut) that think he is the best thing since chocolate. GAG ME!!! The man cannot think for himself nor can he make any strides to help the working man - rhetoric at its best. Enough of that for now - or I am going to rupture an artery.

Slyght is asking that his blogsite get passed around, via flyers or whatever it takes. I am trying to find out if we have any local cropdusters to drop the damn things. Right!!!!! I can see Mom 2 and I(because I won't do it alone) going around stapling the flyers to telephone poles and trees now. Hell with a lost puppy just log on to my son's blogsite PLEASE!! I THINK HE HAS FINALLY REACHED THE DESPERATION STAGE. Call the shrink!!

Mom2 and I took my grandson and her 2 nephews to dinner last night and then to WalMart. What a treat. Actually it went well, Colton ate what he wanted (a buffet place), jello, rolls and ice cream. I know there is nutrition there somewhere, but since he won't budge from the 32 pound mark, anything he eats makes me happy.

Tomorrow, we are off to Columbus again to see the doctor for Carrie's wrist. I am hoping he makes a final decision as to what he is going to do. These trips are killing me with gas at 2.50/gallon.

Better get cracking on the work. Everyone have a good day and enjoy yourselves. LATER!!!

Tuesday, March 21, 2006

senior moments...

OK - my wonderful plans for protesting are shot to hell. All due to my wonderful "senior moment." I'm plotting and planning how and where to approach this matter, only to find out the Bushista is coming to town tomorrow and NOT thursday as i had thought. to late for me to pencil in "protest" on my calendar. damnit!!! so much for democracy - elite frontment (troopers) making all the plans for an aggressive republican crowd (oops - i wouldn't last long there), and the lines were long to get tickets to see the twerp. IDIOTS. last time he was here (Nov. '04) the frontmen would eject anyone who even resembled the opposition and take them to a far away place till his hineyness left the state. (has anyone caught on to my feelings towards the man???) no free speech in west virginia - that's for sure. oh well, maybe later.

phyldot (mom2) and i went to dinner at outbacks (my favorite) and had a wonderful conversation, which we haven't done for awhile. while we were there, it started snowing (blizzarding). we headed home about 8:15 pm. thank god, we kept talking, because the roads were a sheet of ice. bad wreck by mall exits and once we got on rt. 7, there were at least two bad wrecks. (we were tied up in traffic on rt 7 for probably 20 minutes. (lookeelus). after we got off the highway, i finally told phyl how slick the roads were. didn't want phyl to get scared and dry mouth then have her teeth fly out - Lord have mercy - not a pretty site.

It's official, the daughter got fired from her wonderful pizza baking/bartending/groveling/low paying job!! I would rather she not work for the idiots anyway. (I have a very low tolerance for stupidity. and this "family" more than qualifies for the title.) now we can wAit and see what the doctor has to say about her wrist on monday and what the future may hold.

as one attentive reader has noted (paul) - the year is a quarter of the way over and i should probably update all on my new years resolutions: 1) lose 50 pounds....now who am i kidding. i have probably gained 5. 2.) quit smoking... only when i am asleep. 3.) get a better job...will possibly pursue this more aggressively after my cruise. 4) see my son...NOT YET - but quite possibly within the next month.

I think in the future i will only make one resolution and use the same one for giving up at Lent...NO SEX. it is ever so much easier to give up when you don't get it anyway!!! hahaha. so there slyght are ya blushing!!??? actually, i should consider being a nun...Not!!

OK, i am exhausted, time to crawl in bed. keep those comments coming - PLEASE!! ttfn!

Monday, March 20, 2006

have to take a break

OK guys. I have facts and figures traipsing thru my brain. Hitting the burn out stage for the moment. In order to get a small semblance of relief - i just watch Colton and his antics. He has inherited so much of his uncle's genes - IT'S DELIGHTFUL!! Have to check out slyght's latest - trying to wrestle a water buffalo - well, actually just try to chew the damn cooked meat. Hysterical. He is definitely making the most out of a bad place to be.

Talking to Colton is like talking to a small adult. He has the same expansive vocabulary his uncle had at that age. He has a seriousness (almost comical) when conversing. Can't wait for him to grow up (which will be sooner than we think.) He is all excited about going to kindergarten next year. He has been told to "quit talking" so much at pre-school so kindergarten will be a real treat.

St. Patrick's day was no big thing here, I was tied to the computer and tax returns. But looking forward to cruising, which keeps me sane. Was checking out the site today and looks like May 27th may be the day. Have to finalize things soon. May be going by myself, but no big deal - i make friends easily. But I have to get away to the blue waters and warm temps.

Oh, btw, our illustrious leader (cringingly) Bush, will be visiting here on thursday. Thought about actually being a protestor for the day. Already had one person say not a good thing to do - but I did grow up in the 60's and 70's.

Enough for now - back to the grind. Take care all!!!

Monday, March 13, 2006

crazy weather...

can you believe it - almost 80 degrees today and tomorrow it is going to be 40 degrees. everyone in this valley is going to be sick all over again. storm threats all day today, supposedly winds reaching 70 mph. so out i go to "batten down the hatches!" called the guy to have the check-valve put back in my outside drain line again - and again he didn't show. after the flood of september 2004 (hurricane ivan), and the financial loss of all my stuff in the basement, i would prefer NOT to go through that again.

chatted with slyght online this morning, and as he was "typing" to me, the FedEx guy came through and told him he had delivered a package for him at his hotel. so ST. PATRICK'S DAY is on. zac will be able to have his green beer and wear his guiness boxers - YAY!!!!

spent a wee tad too much time in tanning bed yesterday and have been itching like crazy (burned!) smart person that i am - i have cancelled my next two sessions. anything beats looking like "styrofoam!"

slyght is leaning a little political lately and i am rather proud of him. i didn't realize he even paid attention to world matters. you go kid!

almost time for "24" and i CANNOT miss an episode. best show. it has been years since i have been hooked on one tv show, but this is the one. got hooked in boston in January of 2005.

gotta go for now, have fun all!

check out time clock for bush

zac has this on his blog and i love it, gives me something to look forward to. haha. more later.

Saturday, March 11, 2006

soapbox time....surprise!!

ok i have not bothered to vent my political thoughts on this blog thus far, but TA DA!!! IT'S TIME. since i am such a news junkie and a highly opinionated liberal democrat - i have saved you till this time, but after reading an item this morning i just have to comment.

there is a white house aide (now "former") who has been indicted for various acts of theft. now our illustrious leader tried to appoint this individual to the federal court of appeals out of virginia in 2003, but the democrats raised some pertinent issues and that nomination was canned. so instead, he wa appointed as one of bush's top domestic policy advisors - fair trade i guess. he is now being charged with theft from target and hecht stores in the virginia area. he would go into these stores and purchase items such as: bose stereo systems, designer clothing and even small items costing $2. he would then proceed to his car, leave the items, and proceed back into the stores and collect identical items to those just purchased on his credit card, and go to the service areas and RETURN the merchandise. thus getting a complete credit on his visa or mastercard or whatever and leave. going home with thousands of dollars of merchandise FOR FREE.

now i don't know about anyone else, but i am surprised that HE DIDN'T get his previous nomination. he fits in so perfectly well with the other idiots in control - those who all say THEY WILL BE VINDICATED. everyone else is lying and the truth will win out - oops, must have forgotten about the camera surveillance. he and his wife just purchased a million dollar home in the same area, so you know he had to be making a pretty penny in his government position, but just goes to show what greed can do - it is NEVER enough.

the white house press secretary has stated that they have "given him the benefit of the doubt", as a person in his position had to undergo an in-depth background search upon hiring. hmmm.. background...kind of leaves out this moment in time.

sen. bob ney is a local boy and in considerable trouble, but he too says he will be vindicated. amazing to me, that just because so many people know him personally, they really don't know him, but will still keep the crook in office. look at delay in last weeks election. oh my tolerance for idiots is definitely waning - can ya tell?

had to get that off my chest - i feel so much better now. as we all know - none of this will change the graft and corruption in our government, but i LOVE when each one is uncovered.

TTFN!!!

Wednesday, March 08, 2006

didya miss me?... probably not

ok - i have been running around like crazy - trying to get every thing done - and only half succeeding. slyghts blog's have been great lately, keeping me highly entertained. finally got his st. patricks day box fedexed to him today - YAY!! (there are things in it he requested for valentines day - better late than never!!) so limited on certain things that can be shipped, the biggest problem is NO LIQUIDS. he has been begging for italian dressing and now green food coloring. well MOM 2, has taken care of the italian dressing dilemma and sent the powdered kind plus a CRUET. knock yourself out irish boy!! i have been everywhere trying to find powdered food coloring and struck paydirt at a tiny cake supply store in wheeling. so turn that beer green baby!!

the daughter had her doctor visit on Monday in columbus, and he is really trying to avoid surgery to remove the bones, but this week he is pretty certain that will be the route we take. he shot her wrist full of a numbing agent and steroids - to see if she gets any relief from the inflammation and we go back in 3 weeks (27th). she was in one of the worst moods this time. we have gotten along super for almost 6 weeks until monday. she was worse than a bear. snapping at colton, me and anybody nearby. she slept all the way home, which was a relief for me, but unfortunately, i was actually getting sleepy. i kept rolling the window down for cold air (it was snowing)and colton kept yelling he was cold. DAMMIT. as soon as we got home - i was wide awake. poop.

haven't made my vacation plans yet, but will soon, so i started tanning so i will be ready for the sunshine. my bones are crying out for warmth and sun. unfortunately MOM 2 is having some problems and i am probably going to end up going on a cruise by myself. could be interesting. i don't think anybody wants to throw me overboard or anything - at least i hope not!!

well, back to the tax returns. everyone behave and i will be back later. TTFN!!

Saturday, March 04, 2006

damnit Slyght... I'm hooked

If anyone has read slyght's blog lately he mentioned taking the Intelligence Tests #1 and #2. Well... let me tell you, I am totally hooked. Slyght sent an email with the answers to all of them, but I am adament I am going to do as many on my own as possible. On Test #1, I have 27/33, but am not as good on #2 - think I am up to 9 right so far. I have always been a puzzle and trivia junkie. Knowledge is a wonderful thing - right? I can rememebr Slyght sneaking to my crossword puzzles and filling them out (as best he could) at a very early age. Now we have the Soduko thing going on also.

I showed this test to a few select people yesterday and I was tickled to find out they are definitely dumber than the proverbial "hoe handles." Which poses a question, why do we choose hoe handles to compare ones intelligence too? Why not a shovel handle, door knob or hair brush? Hmmmm....

I read all of Paul's "blogs" the other day, he too is an engineer who was once assigned to the India project. Interesting fellow - I know I would enjoy his company and conversations for sure. I can only imagine how he and Zac got along on the site - "mahvelous" I am sure.

Well, back to Columbus on Monday, so I will tie myself to the kitchen table (makeshift office desk) and work till I am caught up. I have told many people, I am thinking about removing the stove and replacing it with filing cabinets.

Since I am soooooo busy here at work, I better go and at least pretend to accomplish something. Have a good one everybody. Be back soon....I hope.

Thursday, March 02, 2006

sorry...been busy

i can't believe i haven't blogged since last saturday. tax season and my job really keep me busy this time of the year.

took carrie to columbus last monday, the biopsy came back benign, which is a good thing, but the doctor says he wants to find out why these 3 bones in her wrist are DYING, before taking the drastic step of removing the bones. she was so upset when we left columbus, she just wished they would cut both hands off, so she would have no more pain. although that is quite extreme, i understand her frustration. because she is young, the doctors would like to have all the answers before taking this extreme step. we go back again this coming monday (6th) to get results of blood tests and to have stitches removed from biopsy.

OK - phyldot hates my pic on my profile, and i tried to change it last night, and with all my brain damage, i have forgotten how to do it already. so sorry phyl...like it or lump it for now. hee hee.

the "gang" all went to dinner for donald's 51st birthday last night, at where else...Steve's West Texas Roadhouse. some things just never change. phyldot is currently hobbling around, with a bad hip (i think it stems from the cervical surgery.)

read all the blogs posted from slyghts former coworker (oops, don't know his name but blog is "bikerless"). seems like a cool character. glad to see he hated india as much as everyone else. at least he found salvation and returned home -- POOR SLYGHT.

will add more later, have to get ready for work. have a good day all!!

Saturday, February 25, 2006

i need more hours in the day!!

this will be a short one - but i really do need more hours in the day to accomplish everything that needs to be done. i worked my "part time" job 4 days this week and when i get home at 5 or 6 pm, try to squeeze in a couple of returns. now i am off till tuesday and hope to get completely caught up. monday, we head to columbus again, for the results of the biopsy and to set a plan of action. so i will only get to work on the returns in the evening.

talked to slyght this morning, guess the company is driving him nuts again. that damn power house may never fire up. semi sort of talked to his "DRIVER" - slyght told him to say "hi" to his mom, and i heard a faint (with a laugh) indian "hi". our conversation ended as he and emma were exiting the vehicle on their way into THE BAR!! How typical.

ok - a word to slyght, time to put up another "countdown" clock, maybe for JITH, i know it is 302 days till christmas, any other suggestions??

well, back to the tax returns - g'nite all!!

Tuesday, February 21, 2006

the biopsy.. one hurdle down...

well, we went to columbus yesterday - late afternoon - carrie wanted to stay at a hotel and considering all that she is facing, no problem. her brother, slyght, made all the arrangements for which we are both grateful. nice hotel, holiday inn conference center. can't say much for the restaurant in the hotel, we waited for 45 minutes for our dinner when the waiter, his first day, came out to tell us that they only had ONE chicken dinner and he could bring it out, while one of chose something else. NOT!!! we told him we would pay for our drinks and go elsewhere. the manager, said not to charge us for the drinks since it was their fault. cool. we went to a BP behind the hotel and got some beer and pop and headed back to room to order pizza. the hotel gave us menus for a place called King's. omg, the food was fantastic and cheap. we both got chicken parmagiana, came with garlic bread, and an order of chicken bites and the total was $20. We brought home the left overs and had another meal out of it tonight.

We did a drive by when we got to the hotel, to check out the hospital. A real cinch. 2 miles away and a straight shot. This meant we would not have to leave exceptionally early in the morning to find the place.

Carrie did not sleep well, nor did i. nerves i guess. we were out of the hotel by 7 am, and after cruising around the hospital and parking in the WRONG lot (too far away), a nice lady going to work showed us exactly where to go in the hospital to register. The registration clerk and everyone at the hospital were exceptionally helpful and nice. Carrie went into pre-op at 7:57 am, and into surgery at 8:46am, and to recovery at 9:05am. Unbelievable. Dr. Litts came out and explained that she could not work for a couple of days, the pain she would experience and that he had taken 3 tissue samples to biopsy. He more or less told me that she would eventually (soon) have the 3 bones in the wrist removed, and she would lose the up/down motion in the wrist completely. Not a good prospect but certainly one she will learn to live with. we will check into job options at a later date. Bottom line - is remove the damn BAD THING!!

I went into recovery and helped her get dressed and got the home care instructions and we were on our way home by 10:30 am. She was still dopey (like the dwarf haha) and we stopped at Big Boy to get some food in her, but she was still nauseus (sp), so we just came right home. She slept (or dozed) all the way home. just me and the radio for 2 hours.

Dr. Litts prescribed oxy's, so she should get some rest tonight. her hand is bandaged well, and she is to wear the splint or sling as she sees fit. Now we just wait till we see the doctor next Monday - again, we will be on the road travelling. Colton is being the little doctor, kissing her wrist to make it better and all.

we are both tired so it will be an early evening for us. take care all...till later.

Sunday, February 19, 2006

Brownie is at it again...

OK - it is 3:30 am - and I am having to figure out how to barricade the little buck-toothed critter AGAIN!!. I wonder if this is going to be a regular Sunday morning thing?!!? I fell asleep around 11 pm and at 1 am I heard the dog yipping in the kitchen, like it was playing with the cat. Got up, and the dog kept going to the same spot (floor under hamster cage.) I couldn't see the little bugger in the cage, and then noticed a front slot was open on cage (different one from last time.) Then the little darling just peeked out at me, like "oh goody more people to play with!" BACK TO ISOLATION - SIX MONTHS IN THE HOLE!!

Now the dilemma, do I duct tape over the holes in the one cage or do I check at pet store for safer additions to already expensive condo? Oh the decisions I have to make.

I am so glad I made this discovery (finding hamster on the lam) before it packed a bag and headed to greener pastures up the road at phyldots. I'm not sure her dogs would just PLAY with him. Ferocious animules!! haha just kidding.

That's it for now - have to try and get back to sleep, lots of work to catch up on tomorrow. GOODNIGHT!!

Saturday, February 18, 2006

awhhh.. ain't it sweet!

GO FIGURE!! My kids have me totally dumbfounded! One minute they really hate each other, the next all sweetness and light. Honestly, I am happy about their connection at the moment. Unfortunately, with the pressing medical problem at hand, I would only hope that a connection bond remains. It is almost comical in a way also. Slyght is such a "softie" and he knows it.

This is just a short commentary, as I am at work and I should actually DO some work!!
Maybe more later tonight. Have fun all - it is colder than a bitch right now!! BRRRRR...!!

Friday, February 17, 2006

experimenting with adding pics...


everytime i keep doing this, i end up "x" ing all the way out of blog. brain is just not functioning well this early. Anyway, thought i would add a pic of the grandson (in drag) for shites and giggles.

Also, found a great pic of the Caribbean Princess, docked in Ft. Lauderdale. Took this pic from at least 2 miles away, it is a monster. I will be on this ship in a couple of months, even if i go alone. Such a beautiful, relaxing time for me.

Will see how this all looks, may need slyght to help in placement of the pics, the program seems to have a mind of its own.



EDIT: slyght fixed it a bit (poor colton), will have to walk you through it later. when you have the code on your template, you can cut and paste where you want it (like it did for your ship to make it in a relevant position, TheMom, click edit on this post and see where it is now. also, once you click preview, when you want to go back, just click in the same position 'hide preview', you'll be right back where you can work with it. good luck and good job.

Wednesday, February 15, 2006

mother nature run amok...

here it is - the middle of winter and it was almost 60 degrees today. i was chatting with a client in the front yard (what little there is of it) and i was being attacked by a "confused" and "pissed off" bee. the idiot flying creature is supposed to be hibernating in some obscure hiding place, but oh no - marie is fresh meat - LET'S ATTACK!!!! and crazy bee hater that i am, i'm just swatting at it making it more irate. it succeeded in driving me back in the house. all the while, i am sure the bee is just humming "job well done!!"

a beautiful sunny day and i am stuck in my house calculating tax returns. can't complain, the extra money comes in handy. think i did around 20 returns in all.

update on carrie's OSU appointments. tuesday the 21st, dr. litts is performing a biopsy on the tumor within the "triquetrum" bone. we then will go back to columbus on the 27th to get the results and start a plan of action. i should get an "auto pilot" installed on the equinox, as many miles as we are logging. oh well, it has to be done.

the grandson totally lost it today. while playing a PS2 game (Spiderman) he threw down the controller and started crying hysterically, because he can't beat the "flame" guy. wants me to help him, but i have NO clue as to the strategies of the game. it broke my heart. but decided to limit him today on game time, no child should get that upset over a stupid game.

i don't know about anyone else, but OUR vice president shooting a fellow hunter, has become fuel for the fodder, and i am loving it. talk about trying to cover your ass. an avid NRA advocate to boot. then he doesn't have the proper stamps for his hunting license?!?!? OH WELL DICK, THAT'S ALL RIGHT - JUST SEND THE $7 IN AND WE ARE FINE WITH IT!! right, if it were you or me - ten days in jail, and no hunting license for 3 years. the old coot should not have lethal weapons in his possession. i could go on and on - but not worth it.

think i can cram a couple more returns in before bedtime. have a good one everybody.

Sunday, February 12, 2006

...unbelievable

sorry i have been away from blog for a few days, but as i said before, TAX SEASON. but anyway, got up this morning and both the cat and the dog were scampering around the kitchen and i didn't think much of it, they always play together. after about a half and hour, i noticed the cat was parked beside me and had her nose under the hutch. i looked down, and there was our pet hamster Brownie, poking his/her head out from under the hutch, teasing the cat. Now, i spent a small fortune building a condo for this rodent, and amazingly enough after at least 7 months, the little critter figured out how to knock a side panel out of one of the cages. (2 cages joined by running tubes). I put the rodent back in the cage and less than 2 minutes later it was out and just staring at me (almost laughing) from outside the cage. Gotta laugh, the cat and dog and hamster were all playing together (for probably most of the night), and Brownie wanted out to play some more. I now have the little booger isolated to one cage, till i get a new cover for the one she breaks out. I think Brownie is mad at me now, because he/she (we really don't know gender, pretty sure a male) is used to dining in both cages, and sleeping in two separate comfort zones (one for am and one for pm). I do believe I have spoiled the buck-toothed critter. Needless to say, the hamster belongs to grandson, but I have the duties of cleaning the cage, and buying supplies. I HOPE SOMEONE SHOOTS ME IN MY NEXT LIFE!!!

Update on Carrie's wrist. The doctor called and after meeting with his colleagues, the unanimous decision was made to perform a biopsy to discover what type of tumor this is and where to go from there. We go to Columbus again tomorrow to fill out paperwork for the biopsy, not sure whether it will be done tomorrow or not. We are playing this by ear. Carrie's attitude is a little better, plus the xanax helps. (helps me cope with her too!!)

Finally got a break and went to dinner with my best friend "Phyldotcom" the other night. Had to be funny, we had planned this for a couple of days, just the two of us, and when I picked her up, her hubby wants to go to. Gotta love him, I get along with him well, probably because he is in love with me, but we won't tell his wife!!! HAHAHAHA!!! We will get our evening together soon, trust me!!

Back to the tax returns, more updates later.

Thursday, February 09, 2006

a few pitfalls along the way...

sorry, with tax season upon me, work and family problems, i have just not had time to get back to the blog. yesterday, the daughter had an appointment at OSU orthopaedics in Columbus, Ohio -to finally have someone with a brain, help find out why she has ben having swelling and incredible pain in her left wrist for over seven years. we (the daughter, coloton and I) met with a very nice doctor (christopher litts) who is the foremost specialist on hands in the state, and the news was not great. he suspets a tumor within one of the bones in the wrist. apparently the mri show that no signals are getting thru this bone (nerves, synapses, etc.) he referred to this bone as "dead" and "necrotic." he expressed concern and worry, and also the fact that he has seen this type of tumor in other bones, but never in the wrist. he is consulting with his cohorts and promised we would hear from him within the week.

having a "C" history in the family, has not helped the daughters attitude. anyone would be concerned in such a situation. her father died from the dreaded "C", i was diagnosed with cervical cancer when i was 34 (total hysterectomy fixed that!). Although the upside to this is, we have been to doctors and hospitals for over 7 years, and no other problems have manifested, so if it is a tumor, the odds of it being "benign" are great. but until, the damn thing is dealt with, your mind has a way of running amok.

i am sure that surgery will be needed and we will deal with this. she is young and has her whole life ahead of her, we just have to get over this hurdle.

the tax files are piling up on me at the moment. being sick in bed for a week has not helped me, time wise. i'm off friday, so plan on playing catch up all day, so i can go to dinner with my best friend in the evening for rest, relaxation and humor. we always have a blast - even if it is at the expense of others! HAHA.

Sunday, February 05, 2006

I CALLED IT !!STEELER SUPERBOWL CHAMPS

it wasn't the best game of the year, but no matter what - the end result is glorious. STEELERS RULE !!!! I even called the MVP early on. heinz ward has the best hands i have ever seen. two incredible passes, a little out of reach and he managed to pull them both down. waited for the "gadget" play and sure enough, randel el let it fly right into heinz' hands. i knew it wouldn't be a high scoring game - think vegas had the over/under at 47. for me, a rookie at best, to critique the game would really not be pretty, but i know what i like and i truly LIKED this game.

it is late, but i am still on such a high from the game. considering i didn't have much a voice before the game (due to cold/cough), i have even less now.

slyght must not have had his blackberry with him, sent 5 text messages and didn't hear back from him - so baby - I HOPE YOU WERE ECSTATIC!!!

more later - going to crash (try), i am exhausted.

IT'S STEELER DAY!!!!! ALL THE WAY!!

OK - the doctor gave me a miracle drug, it is drying up my head and relieving the damn pressure. thank god for miracles. i still can't smell or taste, but hopefully that won't take long. the SUPER BOWL is today and i am so excited. i KNOW the steelers are going to get this one!! (much to the chagrin of my Browns friends!)

i am going to a super bowl party at a friends (have been going there for the past 4 years) and of course we are all big steelers fans, so being able to finally cheer on OUR team - is SUPER WONDERFUL.

the fun part is when i get excited i start a coughing jag that won't stop. could be interesting.

tax season has begun and being sick has really put me behind. had to lug 4 file bins up from basement (been asking the daughter for a couple of weeks), and that about killed me. the computer program was released late this year, so finally got it installed yesterday. now to tackle the 25 returns backed up on me. OH THE PRESSURE!!! i always manage to get it done though.

enough babble, i'm off to the PARTY. gonna text slyght during the game to make sure he is catching it all. more later.

Friday, February 03, 2006

...yes, i think i am near death

this is definitely more than a "cold".; i think it is some new strain of flu, far more severe than the impending bird flu. i do not usually complain, nor do i miss work, but i assure all that i have been a chronic complainer and to date have missed 1 1/2 days of work. i tried to go to work yesterday, but left at 1 pm, because of the pressure in my head. i have gone through two complete boxes of tissues, my nose is ready to fall off my face, and my head feels like it is the size of a basketball. one head (even if the size of a basketball) should not be able to produce so much junk like this. i have been in bed most of the time, and you flip from side to side and so does the JUNK!!! and the kicker.... i have lost my sense of taste. i want to eat something and have been consuming stuff just because my stomach says "feed me!!" but alas, i cannot totally appreciate the taste. Phyldot - i can understand your plight.

slyght wants a fully descriptive account of this plague, but i do not have the talents he has in describing things (see his blog, re: rabbit poop!) this is the best he will get from me.

again, i am going back to bed for the 4th day. there must be a cure soon or i prommise, you will all miss me when i am gone!!!

hopefully to return later, i remain....SICK!!!

Monday, January 30, 2006

...the flu or ordinary cold

OH GOD!!! I can't breath...blowing my nose incessantly...feel like crap...head ready to BLOW UP!!! I love my grandson more than life itself - but give me a break...he gave me his cold/flu! I was planning on coming home and going to bed to get warm and cozy - but NO -- the daughter wasn't supposed to work and alas, the most important job in the universe calls her in to work - so babysitting again. If I am this sick in the morning I will call off work, something i NEVER do, but feel like a big pile of shite! have to get over this thing before the weekend for SUPER BOWL. I plan on enjoying the hell out of that game.

Slyght received his package of Steeler stuff, so he will be good to go. He can cuddle up with his TERRIBLE TOWEL now!! I expect great pics of emma and him celebrating the Steeler victory. The Drive for Five is going to be great. The Steelers arrived in Detroit today, all wearing the green No.6 Notre Dame jersey Bettis wore in college. How neat! I am very excited but try to contain myself. (right?!?!?!)

Oh well, I am going to try and curl up inside a kleenex box for the night, me and my irritated red nose!! damnit! Everyone think good thoughts for Sunday. Later guys!

Sunday, January 29, 2006

a Sunday WITHOUT football

...talk about channel surfing. no football today and I am going crazy. resorted to nfl today on hbo, which was a rerun from the other day, but kept replaying the nfc and afc championship games from last week. nothing changed, seattle and pittsburgh still won!!! the steeler frenzy around here is wonderful. i have a couple of friends who, of course, could not afford super bowl tickets, and instead, have rented a hotel room in pittsburgh. that way they can celebrate right in the heart of the action, when PITTSBURGH WINS SUPER BOWL XL!! if i had thought ahead, i might have done that also.

everyone around here, are big into NASCAR, which i have very little understanding. slyght's blog is carrying a poll, as to which driver will be the best in the upcoming series. rots of ruck on that one!

checked out the new Lowe's store in wheeling this morning, YUCK!! much smaller than the st. clairsville store, and it is set up bass ackwards. also, very little selection on items. although convenient, I wasn't impressed. the daughter had to work, so babysitting was my call of the day again. we played, and played some more, till i was worn out and the cartoon network came in handy. after being off sick from school all last week, he is bathed and ready for bed, so he can be at school tomorrow. now if the school bus driver is on the job, the day will be complete. more often than not, we get a call at least a half hour beore we are to be at the bus stop, that the driver is off sick or didn't show. must be a great job!!

till something more exciting comes along...bye for now!!

Friday, January 27, 2006

one year away from home...

well, it is official. sunday the 29th of january will be one year since zac went to godforsaken rajahmundry, india. for me it seems like a very quick year, but for zac - i'm sure it must seem like an eternity. and at the present, i don't believe there is any end in sight yet. i am counting on seeing him in march sometime, but the General sometimes has other ideas. slyght and emma may take some r&r in a nice place like new zealand or australia. ooh doesn't that sound nice!!!

between pictures and blogs, slyght has offered quite an insight into his life with the "indians." not to mention being bitten by some alien bug!!! he has managed to stay out of the USA long enough to recoup all his taxes for 2005 - how wonderful!!! probably more than i can make in 2 years.

now, i am trying to think of what "exciting" event or events he has missed while being overseas --- hmmm... let me think. NOPE, can't think of anything too major. he missed the backed up sinks in the kitchen, some water in the basement, all your basic, mundane, run of the mill, everyday garbage. luckily he HAS missed my many "meltdowns", but he would brush them off anyway.

he has missed his nephew - developing into a bright lad. (pain in the butt sometimes, but bright.) but with our webcams he spent christmas with us, and watched colton open every present.

i miss him every day and moment, but with modern technology, he really isn't that far away!! love ya baby!!

later all!!

Thursday, January 26, 2006

Happy Birthday to ME!! lalalala

Oh well, another year older, guess it is better than the alternative. I have never ever been bothered by "age." It terrified my twin sister to turn 50, and she didn't make that milestone either. I miss celebrating together, we were a "unit" and were supposed to stay that way. Another one of life's funny tricks. But I DID have a nice birthday. Co-workers got me presents, my son got me an expensive gift card for a local spa/salon. I can do an all-day spa treatment, facial, full body massage, hair styling, nails (fingers & toes) and they throw in a meal to boot. Hope they don't laugh too hard over this body!!

And my very "bestest" friend and her adorable husband took me to dinner. What more could a person ask. I have to tell all, "the husband" is fanatically AGAINST the Pittsburgh Steelers and lets me know it regularly. Well, he dug down deep in the rag bag and found a Steeler AFC Championship shirt to give me for my birthday from 1995. AIN'T HE SWEET!! We all got a good chuckle! Good people.

...now the end of the Fedex saga. I received my package late last night, after a neighbor several doors away, found the package "TIED" to his back fence. DUH!! And the Fedex driver called me this morning stating "I did attach the package to your fence by your garage." AGAIN WITH THE GARAGE I DON'T HAVE!! He insists that the "221" address was on the fence. Considering it was on a fence on a cross street where they have 4 digit addresses, I find that hard to believe. I had fun with him, asking if my garage was old, new or under construction and he said "what???" hee hee. Anyway, I am now in possession of my Steeler stuff, whether Fedex likes it or not!!! So there.

My grandson (and his mother) baked me a cake, and when I picked Colton up and came home, he made me close my eyes for the surprise. (**his mother is working, so just the 2 of us.) He said I had to light the candles so he could sing to me - it was terrific. He is so very proud of the cake. Plus his present was the big hug and kiss he had for me!! What more could a person want?

My son called me from India this morning for the birthday wishes, and our chat was great. He said it was a holiday in India (probably because of my birthday) but the downside is - on holidays, no alcohol sales. Sorry Slyght, have to stay sober on mom's birthday. Love ya bunches.

Enough for now, more at a later date.

Wednesday, January 25, 2006

...taking this personally

you know slyght can order anything online and the fedex and ups guys can put their trucks on auto pilot to get it here. but when i order something, they LOSE IT!!! i pre-ordered steeler afc champion stuff, and it was shipped from pittsburgh 3 days ago (only 80 miles from here) and they sent it to cambridge, ohio then zanesville, ohio and supposedly then to my doorstep. Not!!! tracking it online, it says package was delivered at 3:20 pm today and left at MY GARAGE!!! interesting, i don't have a fukkin garage. i have called neighbors on both sides of me and nothing!! i have left a message on the answering machine of the people who live one street over (same house number.) nothing. called fedex, went thru the entire options menu, constantly hitting "0", to get a human. after 15 minutes, female moron takes info, and says, "we will contact the driver and should get back to you within 24 hours." I COULD HAVE DRIVEN TO HEINZ FIELD FIFTY TIMES OR MORE DURING THIS TIME.

okay slyght, the temper is coming out!! having to deal with idiots is not helping my mood at all. step back, deep breaths, calm down!! oh, the clincher, when fedex female moron said, "are you sure you don't have a garage?" DUH!!!

having gotten up early and jumped into rearranging my bedroom, which entails thorough cleaning and trash removal, my body is crying out against such actions. i woke up in the middle of the night thinking that this was the job i would tackle today. my damn mind never stops. but i always relish the job when completed. poor colton never knows which direction the bed will be facing!??!?

oh well, i will give an update on the progress of my package as it develops. nite-nite.

Tuesday, January 24, 2006

Poor little guy - Colton is sick!!

Damn Flu!! Colton is a scrawny, 32 pound, five year old and has been down with the"FLU" for the second day now. He spent several hours in the ER yesterday, never to be seen by a physician - only physician assistants!!! Puke, Puke everywhere. He does not even really know he is going to be sick - UNITL IT IS ALL OVER THE PLACE!! Had a fever of over 103 degrees, which was brought down a little with Tylenol. But again, this morning, I hear his mother scream, and he did it again. OH MY GOD - she had to wash her bedding twice in two days. Just kidding CBB. He didn't want to drink anything, but managed to get 1/4 grilled cheese sandwich in him and some "blue fruit craze."

Breaks my heart when the little ones are ill. No doubt it is hard on any parent too, but it is one of the aspects of child-rearing. Just have to deal with it. From what I gather, 72 hours may be the duration of this yucky flu. We will see. I don't have those symptoms yet, but i have a cold sore on top lip, one under lower lip and getting a runny nose. Now, if all these continue to grow - my face is going to look like a clown mask. This is not a pretty picture.

Tried to leave early this morning to get Slyght's package to FedEx, but nothing went right, so by the time I get package off, I was 15 minutes late for work. Oh, well shite happens. It is always something. Have a day off tomorrow, so hope I can just lay back a little. (Odds are not in my favor though, supposed to have snow accumulation.)

Maybe more tonight, we will see. Behave everyone!!

Monday, January 23, 2006

PITTSBURGH STEELERS RULE!!

Ben, Jerome, Heinz, Troy, Joey and the rest of the crew were FANTASTIC! what a smooth game to watch. Not a lot of penalties, just move the ball across the goaline. I was glued to the tv, although this game was nowhere near the nail biter of last week against the Colts. I had goosebumps, to know that Ben kept his promist to bettis to get him to detroit this year. I don't care what other (non-steeler fans) people say, this team has so much HEART, I love to listen to their interviews, so much sincerity. ESPN and CNN sports commentators both said the same thing, no other team is a cherished to their home town fans as Pittsurgh Steelers.

I have to gather up some steeler "stuff" and fedex to slyght in India, so he will feel even better, when he is watching the super bowl at 3 am in the wee hours of the morning, before dawn, etc... told slyght to tell the fukkin' indians that super bowl is a global holiday - they ought to buy that, afterall they decorate the trucks with crepe paper and make a big celebratory shindig for the least little thing.

how about slyght finally figuring out that it may be wise to vaccinate oneself, because of various bug, virus', bacteria, etc...? superman caves in? he still swears that after eating all that green pizza in college, his body is immune from any bacteria or bug!!! RIGHT!!

since i am at work at the moment, i may add more tonight, but have to stop for now!!!

have a good day everybody.

Friday, January 20, 2006

OK - don't comment on MY blog!!

I don't think anyone comes to my blogsite. No comments. Tell me I am brainless, a moron, ANYTHING!! Just a comment now and then please.

I will never be as witty as slyght, but I usually can hold my own. The only thing I feel like talking about now is the Pittsburgh Steelers and hopefully their appearance in Super Bowl XL. After getting 8 1/2 points last week against the super Indianapolis Colts, the bookies are a little scared this week, only giving Steelers 3 points. Hmmm... still the underdog. Maybe they are being underestimated again!! I HAVE FAITH!! I made the decision to wear all steeler stuff till at least Sunday, and then we will go from there. Since there would be a week off before Super Bowl, may have to change the wardrobe during the down time.

As soon as slyght shows me I will have plenty of steeler links to add here. Speaking of slyght - he is currently in Delhi or on his way back to Rajahmundry. Had to get his visa renewed. It doesn't seem like six months since Red got married (that is when he last renewed his visa.) time is really going quickly.

Chumpass's (too many sssss's) family is moving into the broadband area now. Each parent has their own computer - hell, they may never talk to one another again!! (unless thru email) ONLY IN A PERFECT WORLD!! HAHA!

More later, B-Town Boyz keep up the good work!

TILL WE MEET AGAIN.......TTFN

Wednesday, January 18, 2006

proud of the B-Town Boyz Blog

Well, the boyz are getting it together. their blog is getting better all the time. the graphics are really good (and different). oh btw, not sure if anyone is really looking for wasko (milk carton pic.) might want to put a pic of a lost puppy on there. i will have to have slyght help spruce my site up - i am definitely not THAT SMART! i need to figure out how to add picks and links. having such an ecclectic group all contributing to the same site is "inspirational" (haha).

...back to the Steelers. I am wearing all Steeler "stuff" till the game (and during) on sunday. the nfl powers that be, confirmed the idiocy of the troy polamalu call - made me feel better, although Cowher didn't seem as upset as me. may have to have a chat with the man!!! I will have to have chottlady get a babysitter for grandson on sunday - think i will find a place where the crowd is rowdy to watch the game.

...speaking of the grandson - he hasn't shut-up in three days. yaketty, yak - constantly. may have to find him some drugs. i love him more than life itself, but give me a break. i like "QUIET" too!. he was babbling on and on the other day, and i said "yes" to something and he ran upstairs like a fool and came back down almost crying. asked him what was wrong - he said i told him uncle zac was upstairs in his room!! NOW THAT BROKE MY HEART. i tried to explain about my inate power to "tune people out" and that i really didn't hear what he was saying. he is ONLY 5, but i don't think he understood. i must remember to do better with the little guy.

i might post again later today, after i get some things accomplished, gonna go back to bed for awhile since it is my day off and i worked very hard yesterday - i deserve a break!

c'mon slyght - you are slacking - get a new blog up and pick a new countdown!! can't wait!! BYE ALL!

Sunday, January 15, 2006

YES, I am a PITTSBURGH STEELER FAN!!

Oh my God!! I knew I should have refilled my heart medication!! I made sure I had all my outside errands run, so I could be home for the Steeler-Colts game. I am good - got in the door at 12:56 PM. Amazingly enough, slyght was online (not sober - but online) and I started giving him play by play accounts, till he said he had to do something more important - like SLEEP. I will give him that, it was 11:30 PM in India, and he worked hard today (yesterday) and was DRUNK. The steelers took off like a runaway train, and I kept posting to slyght - who kept telling me goodbye - but i knew he didn't mean it - till he WENT OFFLINE!! Guess he meant it Oh well, his loss. It was one of the most exciting games I have seen in awhile. Had to call a neighbor who is a big Bill Cowher fan (me too) and we were both going nuts. BUT - they tried to kill me with the tension in the fourth quarter. But all football fans know what happened, and I went to bettis' stats, and checked, the man just doesn't fumble - except for today, but he was redeemed in the end. Now it is off to mile high stadium to slaughter the broncos next week. STEELERS ARE SUPER BOWL XL BOUND!!

Now I have to survive the bears/panthers game. I am rooting for the panthers, i know slyght will be mad, he is a closet bears fan.

Had the grandson all decked out in steeler gear, told him it was all for good luck!! he believed me. duh!! he doesn't really understand the game (poor thing he is only 5) but he never got tired of telling his "Nina, to shut up" that I was hurting his ears when i was yelling. sorry about that. I DO GET CARRIED AWAY SOMETIMES!

Have to get some cleaning and redding up done, maybe that will calm me down. Just had to share the STEELER MOMENT!!

Saturday, January 14, 2006

mourning and PAIN

ok - didn't take the time to write for two days, but i had my reasons. after tackling outside christmas decorations on an exceptionally windy day, i went into mourning over the loss of my small GOOSE. the damn thing is made of concrete, but the wind was so severe, it knocked one thing over on the front porch and cracked the goose on the head, hurling it onto wooden deck and ALAS - my goose has a broken neck. Now it is going to look pretty silly with all the outfits i have for it - and NO HEAD. my grandson loved to change its outfits seasonally and was really upset. i told him no problem - we will just pretend it has a head - needless to say that did not cheer him up. highly unbelievable. i may have to go on a mission and get another goose, this time a larger one, as outfits for my small one were hard to come by. oh well, something more to deal with!! drat - curses!

now for the PAIN!! before going to bed, my ritual is to turn off all the lights, head to the bathroom - then to bed. well, when coming out of the bathroom (no lights on) i tripped over the DOG (angel from prior blog) who was laying right in the middle of the floor, grabbed the small tv in my way (it hit the floor), stubbed my toes on small table (colton uses in toy room) throwing me into bannister - sending glass baking dishes over the side onto basement concrete floor! it was loud, and messy - not to mention the TWO bleeding toes which are undeniably BROKEN. after at least one minute of swearing @#$$%%#% - grandson Colton comes out and says, "what's wrong Nina?" oh nothing, thought it was way to quiet in this house, thought i would shake things up before going to bed!!!" my foot throbbed all night, and had to work the next day (thursday). i couldn't wear a shoe, thank god it was in the 60's, wore my sandals. Now today is another story, foot still painful and swelled and going to snow. hmmm... haven't a clue what kind of shoe to wear today. LIFE SUCKS!!!

hell, deal with it - right!!?? let the healing begin.

love the "blogs from the BOYZ!!!" very interesting!! keep 'em coming. later

Wednesday, January 11, 2006

let's talk about DOG HAIR!!!

In January 2004, my grandson (3 at the time) was sick with the flu and I had him bundled up on the couch, so he could enjoy the TV and neverending nursing services from me (his NINA.) This was relatively early in the evening, and I had noticed this dog in the neighborhood, running loose all day. I would say it is a mix between a collie and chow, and maybe a few other breeds thrown in for good measure. For whatever reason, I was returning home and the dog literally followed me in the house. (**my best friends husband was heading down the street with a plate of food for her at the same time.) The dog immediately jumped on the couch with the sick lad and laid her head on his chest. Now I had made up my mind that I would not have anymore dogs, as our last dog, Warrior, a great dane/black lab mix, had to be put to sleep 11 months earlier. But now I had this beautiful child begging me to keep the dog, and the neighbors husband was also willing to "adopt" it. THE CHILD WON!!! We hung notices at the local food mart in the neighborhood, but no one came forward, as to owning the dog. I guessed the female dog to be about 10 months old.

Back to the DOG HAIR!! Angel, aptly named by my grandson, because she is so loving, protective, quiet --- BUT HAIRY!!! No matter what season of the year - I could make rugs and sell them, for all the hair she sheds. I dropped a small screw from the ceiling fan the other day, cat knocked it into cold air return. No problem, right?? NOT!. I removed the grate and reached down to retrieve screw and came up with a basketball size ball of hair. Behind the fridge, under the hutch, on clothes, it is everywhere. Having had animals all my life, I realize the necessity of making sure to vacuum under the refrigerator, as any buildup could cause condensor problems. Now I did this probably 4 months ago, but noticed a new "sound" an hour ago, so I get out the sweeper and start the process again. OMG!! No animal can possible SHED this much hair. If I were a refrigerator I would have screamed louder than the small sound I heard. HAIR, HAIR (they should make a musical about it!) All hair is now removed and refrigerator literally sighed with relief.

Since the dog is a pansy, and prefers to be inside as opposed to being out harassing neighbor dogs, I may consider having her shaved year around. we have only done this in the summer (and what a pathetic beast she looks like, when bald), but may eliminate some of the mess.

Now, in reference to slyghts blog (Nomadic Tendencies), I am trying to figure out how to tell "stardust" from "housedust." I'm sure I could box up some of the latter, just to throw them off.

Have a good one all!!! Later

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

... good start

i did it!! i began the assault on storing all christmas decorations. i must admit i made a large dent in the project, but still have a bit to do. the tree is back in its hiding place for another 11 months, some of the decorations have also made it back to their place of repose. alas, the santas are the last plan of attack. having collected them for many years (and a large $$$ investment), i do hate hiding them away. if i ever hit the lottery, i will add on to my house and have a "christmas room." who needs another bathroom, anyway? now all i have to look at is a sort of "bareness." so, I have decided to change the decor a little. rather than all the country knick-knacks i have had, i am putting up snowmen and bears. so childish isn't it? hell, you only live once, and i will DO IT MY WAY!!!

the daughter complained constantly, on the weight of the bins, the effort to get everything back in the basement, and oh -- her bad back. i managed to do most of it myself, hang the tree bag on the rafters, but forget my prior medical maladies.

saw that slyght is really HANGING today. so much for the whiskey my boy. cool it!! there is more to life than the booze, must we have this conversation again??

oh well, it's early and have to get ready for work, much to my chagrin. i would rather walk on hot coals than go, but have to make money, even if it is a paltry sum. (at least till something better comes along.)

everyone have a good day, LATER

Sunday, January 08, 2006

i'm really going to get this done... right!!

ok - holiday season is over, and i am still lighting my tree every day and throughtout the house. now i'm not really sure if something eerie happens - if all decorations and ornaments are not stored safely away, immediately after New Years Day - but i am risking it anyway! i love the lights and the ambience, and once they are hidden neatly away in storage, my life will be back to BLAH!!! for the sake of the neighbors, i DID unplug the outside lights, just haven't removed them yet. baby steps i guess!!

in my entire life, i have always, i repeat always, taken everything down immediately after new years, but this year is exceptionally different. my son has not seen the decorations this year, other than webcam, and i feel they have to remain. ludicrous thought.

i have made up my mind to START the removal process tomorrow. i will get no help because my daughter works at 6 pm, so she will not have time to help. (go figure!!) so it will all happen in stages. i will plot the sequence, as if plotting a major assault in war. (could be a war here in this house - you never know!) i will document the progress.

if you noticed, i took a couple of days off from the blog, as nothing of any interest has happened. i actually went out (to a surprise 60th birthday party) last night, and didn't get home till 12:15 am. really threw my metabolism into a tailspin. kinda nice for a change.

HERE WE GO STEELERS!!! looked great against cincinnati today (after 1st quarter), then total domination. cowher keeps coming up with neat gadget plays, even bettis threw the ball (missed though.) still do not want him to retire. OK Cowher - pump them up and devise new gadget plays for your meeting with the colts next week, i am depending on you!!!

ok, gonna go for now, start devising my decoration removal strategy. later.

Wednesday, January 04, 2006

i do know my facts

since someone has chosen to comment to my last blog and beg me to check facts - i beg your pardon, i am quite aware of the facts. the take over of ankr by icg began in february of 2005. mr. hatfield and mr. kitts have been aggresively involved with this mine for over 9 months. there is responsibility to be taken by this company and i feel after the intense investigation is completed, this will all prove out. mr. hatfield had the opportunity after 20 minutes knowledge of the rumor (miners alive) to quell it and make a statement that nothing could be confirmed at that point and chose to wait. he admits it was a poor choice. i am sure this disaster has hit him hard also. but i await all results, so the truth may be known.

sad day for west virginia

althoug i have lived in ohio for 30+ years, i still consider myself a west virginian. now, i don't want you buckeyes to get upset. i support ohio state also. but being glued to the tv since monday morning, watching the mine disaster unfold, my heritage is in mourning.

anyone who knows me, knows what a news junkie i am, and being an event so close to home affected me deeply. my duaghter and i were up all last night, totally elated that the miners had been found alive. (that was 11:46 pm) by 2 - 2:30 am we were questioning why the miners had not been reunited weith their families as promised, then the devastating news - that only one had survived - sent me into a tailspin.

the reality that these men were probably dead (due to the nature of the disaster) was much easier to foresee than to be told one thing and it could not have been further from the truth. in the future, i should hope that the truth will come out as to how such a mistake could have happened. the CEO of the ICG mine group, proved what a spin doctor he is. ineveitably he needs to shoulder the complete responsibility for this disaster (past mine citations) and poor judgement in allowing these families to believe their loved ones were alive.

ok - i will put my soapbox away (for now) - but not forever.

slyght is going on about his "OCD" and i never considered him to be so affected, although i have always known that i have slight tendencies in that area. can't stand anything crooked, prefer to have filing systems in place, etc. so sorry baby - mom didn't mean to pass that one on. at least it is not too serious.

havev a good one, be back later.

Monday, January 02, 2006

back to routines... right!?!??!?!

all the festivities are over and family have gotten together and rturned home, so what is left but to regain normacly in our lives. boy that sounds good, but to date (middle-aged) i don't think i have ever experienced NORMAL.

my oldest daughter, her fiance and her 15 year old - 6' 2" son, came for their holdiay visit today. my gawd, that kid is BIG. i remember when he was a little fart (2 yrs old) running full stride all over the place. now he is a baseball and football standout. and getting good grades to boot. unbelievable. he gets along so well with colton, but unfortunatley his 11 year old brother couldn't come over today. my future son-in-law (6 yrs my junior) is a trip, and they make a fine couple.

all is quiet now, family returned home and i am here with colton to enjoy the evening. have to get up and out of here by 4:30 am in morning to take friend to pittsburgh airport to return to florida home. therefore, it would be super if i could get colton to sleep early. NOT HAPPENING!!! I am enjoyng a whole bottle of cafe' zinfandel - all by myself, so i know i should sleep well.

it appears that the B-Town Boyz all enjoyed their news years celebrations and check out the pic of the group Chumpassfool put on blog. He managed to insert slyght into the pic - so he wouldn't be left out. good job.

slyght is working incredibly stupid and long hours in india, and got the opprotunity to chat with him for a ong time yesterday. he is no fonder of india than before. can't wait to have him home.

following story on trapped w.va. coal miners, so very sad. holding out hope. till i think of more --- i'm outta here.

Sunday, January 01, 2006

ahhh... first day of new year

after spending the new years eve alone and managing to depress myself beyond belief, i have decided to change that attitude completely. i spent most of that time reminiscing about the past, which only further depresses me. SO ENOUGH OF THAT!!

HERE WE GO STEELERS!! another win by my most favorite football team (sorry all browns fans). and i could consider another depression if Bettis retires. playoffs are in the future. now if some rich philanthropist wants to send me tickets to a game i would not refuse. the last playoff game i went to was with my husband in the early 90's. it was 15 degrees, snowing like a bitch, but we tailgated our hearts out. nothing funnier than seeing 15 freezing men lined up inside a dumpster to take a pee. and our seats were the very top row at three rivers stadium (we played the buffalo bills.) actually the top row wasn't too bad as there was an overhang which protected us from the snow. but talk about nosebleeds -- ohhh. we were so high a beer run consisted of everyone getting 4 beers for themselves.

the B-Town boyz site is beginning to take shape. i love input from each of the guys - definitely different perspectives. im'd and webcamed w/ slyght for several hours today, it was great. being in india for the past 11 months did not help my earlier depression, but seeing him works well.

started a cleaning project i have been putting off for some time. when i start one of these adventures, i also start "throwing things away" like crazy. after our house burned in 1984, i decided never to collect or save anything again. that worked for about 10 years then everything went to hell. so periodically, i have to get in a 'trash it" mood. anybody need a pack of twisties from glad bags? ------ too late - gone!! i am amazed - "out of site, out of mind" works, till you finally tackle the project. shocked by some of the things i discovered - yet soon to be trashed. now if i can get my daughter to cart some of the stuff to storage in the basement, the job will be complete. (even discarded old toys to make room for new ones colton got from santa) - whew had to get that trash bag tied up and out in a hurry.

ok - my new years resolutions.
1. lose at least 50 pounds
2. quit smoking
3. get a better job
4. see my son

oh hell, i know i can accomplish at least one of these. hint: #4